Gwinnett Scores
Gwinnett Scores
Gwinnett Scores

2014 GGR Award Winners

Player of the Year Dylan Singleton, Archer c/o 2016 Dylan Singleton led the Tigers to the State Championship game which was the first appearance for the Archer program. Singleton, one of the best two way players in the State had an incredible game scoring all 3 Archer TD’s in the big game. Dylan ended the season with 142 tackles, 4 Int’s, 350 rush yards, 11 rush TD’s, 412 rec yards and 6 rec TD’s. The numbers speak for themselves and left no doubt on who was the GGR 2014 Player of the Year.

RB of the Year Micah Abernathy, GAC, c/o 2015 Micah is a dynamic senior RB who helped lead his team to a region title and state runner-up in Class 2A.  Despite the battling injuries throughout the year, Abernathy finish the season as Gwinnett County’s leading rusher with 1533 yds and 20 TDs.  He is currently committed to the Tennessee Volunteers.

QB of the Year John Urzua, North Gwinnett, c/o 2015 Urzua led the North Gwinnett Bulldogs to a region title in one of the most competitive regions in the state. Entering the season as a senior and 1st year starter, Urzua was a rock star leading the county in passing with 3,142 passing yards and 34 TDs.  Urzua is committed to play for the Middle Tennessee State Blue Raiders.

WR of the Year Josh Imatorbhebhe, North Gwinnett, c/o 2016 Josh Imatorbhebhe becomes the 2nd North Gwinnett WR in as many years to win the GGR WR of the Year award (Nate Brown).  The Junior wideout hauled in 59 catches for 1,072 yards and any eye-popping 15 TDs.  Imatorbhebhe is an electric receiver who has over 20 offers from schools all within the Power 5 conferences.

OL of the Year Josh Fannin, Mill Creek, c/o 2015

Center Josh Fannin anchored one of the biggest and most talented offensive lines in the country. Josh played lights out as a run-blocker and pass protector. The Hawks had over 3,000 yards on the ground in 2014. Fannin is committed to the Middle Tennessee State University Blue Raiders.

DL of the Year Derrick Brown, Lanier, c/o 2016

Brown was nationally ranked and highly touted going into 2014, and he exceeded all expectations with an outstanding junior season. Derrick led the county in sacks with 17.5, and he also totaled over 100 tackles. Brown has over 25 offers from schools including Georgia, Alabama, Miami, Stanford and Texas

LB of the Year Jordan Jones, Mountain View, c/o 2015

After coming off a 13 sack junior season from the DE position, Jones moved to LB in 2014 and never looked back recording 119 Tackles and 7 Sacks, and a bunch off game changing plays. Jones currently has an offer from Alabama A&M.

DB of the Year Stefan Ball, Lanier, c/o 2015

Stefan Ball is a ball-hawking Safety who led the county with 10 interceptions.  Ball is a player who is also a very sure tackler as he registered 105 tackles this past season.  He is receiving interest from a few schools.  The school who wins Ball’s commitment is picking up a guaranteed playmaker!

Athlete of the Year Dylan Singleton, Archer, c/o 2016

Singleton is the first ever back to back GGR Award winner. Dylan improved from a sensational 2013 season with more TD’s, Tackles, Int’s, and Total Yards in 2014. He currently holds offers from Duke, South Carolina, Iowa, Georgia, and Nortre Dame.

Newcomer of the Year Davis Mills, QB, GAC, c/o 2017 Class of 2017 1st year starter Mills led the Spartans to a region title and runner up in Class 2A. Davis also led the county with a 67% completion rate. He threw for 2,267 yards and 26 TD’s.

Specialist of the Year Robert Snyder, Punter, Collins Hill, c/o 2016 Snyder led all punters w/atleast 10 attempts in the county with a 40.5 average per punt. Snyder also contributed on defense at Outside Linebacker totaling  48 tackles in 2014. Robert holds an offer from Old Dominion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 − one =

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>